The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

So Long, Farewell

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

Today was my last day working with Dodzilla. There was the usual presentation of a leaving gift and a farewell speech by a manager.

I find this kind of thing excruciating. It’s my idea of hell so even though it’s not about me, I feel mortified for the person who is the centre of the attention. The introvert in me needs to go for a lie down in a darkened room. My name was briefly mentioned in the speech and my face went so red that the office probably looked like a brothel from outside.

The first time I was about to go on maternity leave, I became aware of people congregating at my desk and a senior manager coming towards me with a present and card. My socially inept brain went into meltdown and I blurted out ‘Oh God no, Eff off’. Thankfully everyone laughed but when it came to maternity leave no 2, they just put the present on my desk when I was away at lunch!

Today’s picture of my desk was sent to me by Dodzilla to show what he had done with the plastic cutlery collection after I had left the office. The extra is the receipt for part of his leaving present.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.