Job done

You know the joy that comes from having a full tank of petrol? Well, it's like that with a full coal bunker and wood store. Sadly, the wood store has been depleted of late and so I ordered another load last week. (My timing was out and I was slightly too late; I had to buy a bag from Kirkby Motors to see me through.)

But on Monday, Bob the Wood Guy dumped a load of nicely seasoned and neatly cut logs on my driveway, which has made for a very happy week when it comes to enjoying an open fire. The downside, however, is that the wood needs to be put away.

Amongst the many things I have learnt from the Minx, one of the most salient is that if you want to get a job done, you need to start it. (She has never said this; this is from my observation of her.) That might sound obvious to you but to a procrastinator like me, this is a wisdom that I struggle to take on board. But today, I just got on with it.

Last time the wood needed storing, I had Dan and Abi to help and we had the whole job done in less than twenty minutes, but today I was on my own. I guess that, in the end, it took about forty-five minutes. I won't say I enjoyed it but it was very gratifying to have it done. 

****
-13.0 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'Rivers Of London'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.