Do Birds Take Sunday Naps?

The blue heron was in one place for a very long time, drifting in and out of sleep. Just after I took this picture, he woke up, and we had a discussion.

ME: "What's the deal Buddy? How come you're so tired?"

HIM: "It's been a long week. Constant fighting with the egrets and pelicans, and the fishermen have been REAL stingy this week.

ME: "Do you always take a Sunday snooze?"

HIM: "Not usually, but this is a special day."

ME: "How so?"

HIM: "Are you serious? It's Super Bowl Sunday."

ME: "I know I'm watching, but how are you going to watch?"

HIM: "I have this great little bistro over by the drawbridge that has an outdoor seating area, complete with a TV. It's only a 55 incher, but if I strain these beady eyes...I can see pretty good."

ME: "Sounds good. Who you rooting for?"

HIM: " I hate to do it, but I'm rooting for the Eagles. In truth, we hate eagles. They're bullies, they steal our food, and they strut around making sure you know that they are our national bird. But...they are birds, and us birds have to stick together. Plus, even us birds are sick of the Patriots always winning everything.

There you have it. Straight from the heron's mouth. An unlucky 13 pelican shots are on a Flickr set.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/76781400@N06/albums/72157665405727478

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.