"It was like totally rad...Dude."

The young lady really wanted to do some surfing, but the waves just weren't big enough. Still, when she came out of the water...I just had to lay some lingo on her.

First, I gave her the shaka. (A sign surfers use...extending the thumb and the little finger.)

She rolled her eyes, but I rambled on.

"Hey, where you feeling pretty aggro out there?" (Aggressive.)

"Were you amped?" (Excited.)

"Did you ever get in the barrel?" (The hollow part of the wave.)

"You get any dings out there?" (Damage to your board.)

"Hey Girl! Did you hit the curl? (The area where the wave is breaking.) Did you do a pearl?" (Burying the nose of the board.)

She was trying to be nice, but she couldn't take any more questions. She turned on me.

"Enough with the questions, you...you...Hodad!" (A person who hangs around the beach, and doesn't surf.)

"OK...I'm leaving...you...you...Frube!" (A surfer that doesn't catch a single wave.)

I was sorry the conversation turned ugly.

In the picture, there is just a glance of a pier. Out on the end of the pier, I took a picture of an Ohio fisherman and a heron. The pic is in the extras.

DISCLAIMER: I really didn't talk to the surfer, but I did like the lingo I garnered from Google.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.