Through Jo's Lens

By Jo8lens

Quackers

Two ducks which my friend, Patrina has in her back garden. She also has real visitors too....a cute robin and a cheeky blackbird.

It was "one of those days" today. The morning was fine then at lunch time I had a call to say that Jed had a nose bleed which had been bleeding for over ten minutes. I still had home visits to do in the afternoon so I had to phone Grandad to go and collect him. Jed's nose stopped bleeding just as Grandad arrived at school.

I went up to the staff canteen to buy a barm cake for my dinner. I asked what veggie fillings they had. One was a mozzerella and tomato filling....sounded good so I chose that. When I bit into it later in the car, it was really hot because it had chillies and bits of salami in it....gawd knows what was in it. I gave it to my Dad later!!!

On my home visits, I had three ladies to take bloods from in one nursing home. One lady was in the tv lounge and chatted as if it was her home and asked if her husband was okay to sit next to her (there was nobody else in the room). She definitely was living a little fantasy life there but nicer than the reality for her. I have to say that I visit brilliant care homes. You hear such bad press about care homes but I've always been very impressed. Next I visited a lovely old couple....in fact I visited them twice because I left my tourniquet and had to go back!!! (This was after leaving my tourniquet in the hospital and having to root around the car where, thankfully, I had a spare one!!). I had a real laugh with the next couple where his chiropodist informed me that she couldn't stand the sight of needles/blood. I looked at what she was doing....scraping away at crusty old feet and informed her that I'd rather take bloods than deal with feet any day!! My next visit was a lady of 91....she was brilliant....bright as a button, great sense of humour!! I told her that I'd see her again. She replied that she hoped so and soon. Well, it was soon as I left my tourniquet again!! My last visit was to an old man who took forever to answer the door. I was wishing he'd get a move on. Once he opened the door I realised that he'd had to struggle down a fair few steps and had made a huge effort to answer the door. Awww.


Jed was fine when I got home. Went to the fat club in the evening with Wendy and her sister, Candy. Fun time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.