Happy birthday/Valentine's Day

I had a meeting, this morning, in Accrington, after which I'd intended to swim but it went on a bit longer than expected - it was with a business colleague I really enjoy chatting to - and so I arrived at David Lloyd just in time for lunch with Hannah, the Minx, and miniMinx. While the miniMinx revised, Hannah and the Minx had been having some kind of spa morning. 

Now, though, it was time for lunch and presents. It's Hannah's birthday, today, and she's twenty-five, which doesn't make feel old so much as bewildered. (This is my favourite photo of her.) Anyway, while we were waiting for lunch I gave her presents to her and then it was Valentine's for the Minx. Now you see why I've been shopping in Clitheroe and Keswick recently!

After lunch, we drove into Manchester, dropping Hannah home to change while the Minx and I checked into our hotel, and then we all met up again with my eldest daughter, Charlie. We ate at Mackie Mayor, in the Northern Quarter, which was excellent; a bar selling really good fizz and wine plus loads of shops/stalls around the dining area, from which you could order food. (In the picture Hannah and I are messing around with triggering my camera from my watch.)

And after that, the Minx and I went across to the King Street Hotel's Champagne Cinema for their Valentine film, which turned out to be 'The Notebook', which happened to be a pretty good film, if a slightly odd choice for a romantic evening.

****
-13.6 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'Manchester Stories' although I'm not sure I picked it up, today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.