lisamiriam

By LmiriamC

The lake was a bit choppy today, big gray clouds in the sky, hardly a soul in sight. I noticed these ducks, which are new to me, so I tried to get a picture of them. They were 40 feet out, moving around a lot in the chop so it's not as sharp as I would like. I looked them up in the book which says they are canvasbacks (aythya valisineria - took me several tries to type that because the spell checker had different ideas). 

They are strange compared to the other ducks with their sloping foreheads. 

I took a picture of a flowering shrub - I'm sure somebody knows what it is called (extra). The tiny blossoms look a bit like daffodils. Now that I have time to walk everyday, I do really appreciate having some place to walk that is big enough to spend a few hours wandering around in, and being able to observe the seasonal changes, including the different birds that come and go. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.