Adventures on the Mynd

I'd like to say that today I just really wanted to explore my locality. The sad reality is that I bought a new car yesterday, stupidly after filling up my own car with fuel. Today therefore became 'let's go for a drive so that I can use all of the fuel before handing it over'. If any more evidence of my skinflint ways was needed, today's walking location was chosen because I've just been gifted a National Trust membership and parking at Carding Mill Valley would be free. Anyway, enough confessions.

Taking the valley route up meant that we were sheltered from the wind and could enjoy prancing about and jumping over streams. However, coming down over the ridge left us totally exposed and with winds and snow lashing at our extremities. My face froze over like I'd just been for a heavy session at the dentist.

The reward for our near death experience? A bag of chips and a beer. Totally worth it.

After a blissful afternoon nap it was time for the next in the series of soirées hosted by the Cartwright Close gang. I ate my own body weight in sausage rolls, there was the usual over consumption of prosecco, late night / early morning dancing and then a snowy walk home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.