First Light

AHA! Yesterday wasn't my last kayak ride!

I left my boat tied up in my truck, and squeezed 'er into my garage. A tight fit.

I was going to race the sun. Up at 7:05. Shave, brush, breakfast. Out the door at 7:21. Drive, untie, unload. The boat ramp site was eerily quiet. Halloween-ish quiet. I was alone. I looked around for anybody dressed in a stitch-up goalie mask. Mike Meyers I didn't want to see, but Jamie Lee Curtis wouldn't have been bad. In the water at 7:34.

Completely dark...but God's GPS was in the sky. The North Star. Strange that it was the only star in the sky. I paddled in it's direction, with the idea of eventually turning east. After many strokes...I glanced skyward again. "IT WAS A PLANE! THERE WAS NO NORTH STAR!"

The bright orange orb made it's appearance at 8:02, and cleared the trees at 8:23...soon getting too bright to snap. I chose this shot for just the glimpse of the rainbow colors.

After snapping the sunrise...I paddled out to the channel, hoping for a heron. I only saw squirrels. One squirrel, and some more sunrise and swan shots are on my Flickr page.

The ride back was daunting. The expected wind showed up. My kayak is open...like a canoe. The waves lashed against the boat...splashing my shorts-wearing legs. I paddled faster, but it felt like trying to run up a sand dune. One step up...2 steps back.

An old church song entered my mind...so I began to sing it. And...I mean sing it...belting it out in my best Pavarotti impression. The song is titled Peace, Be Still.

(Beginning softly)...whether the wrath of the storm-tossed sea...or demons or men or whatever it be...(stronger)...No Water Can Swallow The Ship Where Lies...(FORTISSIMO!! FORTISSIMO!!)...THE MASTER OF OCEANS AND EARTH AND SKIES!!!! WHEWWW!!!

I thought for sure that I would scare off the swans with my fake tenor voice, but they let me approach them. To end up a rough ride...I thought I heard the young swan ask..."Dad...can I attack my first human...can I...can I...PLEASE!!!"

Unlike the wind...Daddy swan had mercy on me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.