LadyPride

By LadyPride

Old life vs new life

Strange day. Had no sleep (not even Audrey's fault this time - was awake worrying about work while she slept at one stage) and had to get Audrey up, feed her and get ready for a day in London all at the same time. At one stage, I had a hairdryer in one hand and Audrey in the other. She was great though. Kicking about and smiling, patiently enjoying any scraps of attention I gave her. I felt awful that I wasn't focused on her though.

My in-laws arrived and took over on her first nap. I wonder how she felt waking up realising I'd gone. Or do babies really know? I'm not sure they do.

A lovely train journey down to London passed in a flash. I didn't manage to sleep but I did a lot of staring out of the window. I have to confess to enjoying some baby free time.

My appointment in Knightsbridge coincided with lunch so instead of grabbing a sandwich, I went to Wagamamas and sat alone with a magazine and an uninterrupted bowl of noodles. Bliss!

Then it was up to Baker St and Bond St for more meetings, all of which went brilliantly (the last involving two glasses of Aperol which I'll probably regret later).

I felt like a PR again today - London, heels, my Blackberry, boozy meetings. Although I enjoyed it, I found myself scanning the streets for prams. And I missed Audrey so much. Turns out I'm not ready for my old life back just yet. The new one is much more appealing; sleepless nights and all!!! I lose perspective when I'm in the midst of it but she is totally worth it!!! Now hurry up tomorrow so I can see her again :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.