Happy as Larry

I had to go to the University of Hertfordshire this morning for a breakfast meeting. I had printed the car parking permit as requested in the email, which gave the instruction.
"Please show this pass to the parking attendant in the cabin by the barrier and follow his directions for parking. "

As I approached the barrier it rose, I stopped anyway and this guy came out of his warm cabin to see what I wanted:
"I have to show you my permit" I said, holding it out of my car window.
He broke into convulsive laughter, slapping his thigh, doubling over, tears streaming down his cheeks.
" What's the matter?" I asked.
"You are a good citizen" he said with a broad West African accent and then continued to laugh uncontrollably.
" You are a role model" Huge gaffaws of laughter..
"You are my role model, I would like to be like you." He said. continuing to laugh.
"Well thank you very much, and I would like to be as happy in my work as you are in yours."
" Thank you, you are a good person - haa haa haa hee hee hee hoo hoo hoo haa"

"May I take your photo so I can tell my friends how lovely you are?"
He ducked behind my car, continuing to laugh, but he didn't actually say 'no'

This was the only shot I took today, but I love it, every time I look at it I think of him and laugh, I shall pin a copy on the wall by my desk.

Thank you Larry for making my day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.