Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Destiny

When I saw this quote as I emerged from my sleep, my feet swung over the side of the bed but still partially in the land of dreams, I saw it as a sign. This should be a daily reminder - that today you should try and be the best version of yourself. Today and every day. Although I do always associate this word with Back To The Future when Marty’s young father, nervous and tongue tied around women, tells his girl that he is her density. Easy mistake to make.

I will remember this one as the day I took back some control and partly addressed the issues of work life balance. It was a day when I felt lighter, with something to look forward to in the not too distant future, a thing that would profoundly change my life for the better.

The Dizzle and I went into work together. We were stuck in a traffic jam and the matrix board bore the following word:

ING

We looked at each other. “Oh no” he said “there’s an ING - that must be what’s causing all the traffic.”

“Bloody INGs” I replied. “This government should do something about them”.

Work itself was okay. I felt a bit clearer about stuff. This is important as you can stick an ING on to STUFF and it becomes STUFFING. Very significant thought process this one. Made me think how important INGs are. For instance I went to the health food shop and they had run out of bags. There was I with a basket full of stuff and no way of baggING it up. I had to go to Lakeland and buy one of those shopping bags that folds up to something the size of a mushroom. The sort you lose about three days later and they find it in your sock drawer when clearing out your house when you have died, along with all the biros you have ever lost.

I bumped into a colleague on the station coming home. He is three years into his NHS career as opposed to I who am 37 years into mine. I tried to do a bit of mentoring (see - another ING), you know the Obi Wan Kenobi to the young Anekin Skywalker. Not that I’m suggesting he will take the NHS over to the Dark Side and kill all his senior management Jedi colleagues one day. That would be a bit depressING.

TSM and I had a really lovING candle it dinner together this evening I mean really lovely, beautiful home cooked vegan food.

I think I will be sleepING well tonight. That is my destiny...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.