Eleanors photos

By Eleanoragain

Another Place

Crosby,Merseyside.
Antony Gormley installation..

This is wonderful - I haven't been to see this before, as I'd left Manchester before it was created. Just fantastic. In this photo I think there are at least 4 menlooking out to sea - there are 100 all together, all cast from Gormleys own body (or a sculpture of it). The tide was quite a long way out, and there are still some with just head & shoulders showing out of the sea. There are lots behind us, right up to the sandhills behind the beach.

Apparently at Christmas they get Santa hats and feature on Christmas cards. I think one had an Olympic medal !

It was a wild windy blue day, and we had to wear so many layers against the wind - straight from the Arctic- that we looked like teddy bears.

I love outddor sculpture .. I have a really strong gut response to this - makes me feel happy..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.