CharlieBrown

By CharlieBrown

Taken from the ‘office’.
I don’t seem to have much in the way of words but I remember as I took this that I was wondering about perception. I was curious that even though I was enclosed and everything around me was still and dry that I was picking up and perceiving movement, the gradations of movement, expectations of movement. There was just the slightest movement in the tree but of course I expected no movement from the rock. The water too, one body, or is it? Moving but only seen by way of the constant orchestration of wind and light.

By coincidence, later in the week I heard a couple of pieces on the Today programme as I headed in to work which for some reason seemed to link to similar themes....one was about perception of colour and if we perceive more colour range if we have the language to express it (or vice versa) and how does that happen. Citing, for example, differences between male and female perception of the colour and gradations of orange.

The other was about professional mourners and expression of emotion. I’m not sure that was entirely linked to what I was thinking when I was looking at this but I was wondering about where and how we perceive emotion and develop a language, as best we can, to conceptualise it. I was looking at the water and thinking how I perceive it’s movement through the interplay of light and wind and wondering what it is that we pick up internally that produce emotional responses ... interplay of thoughts and physical sensations...is that it? I feel as though there is something else.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.