LadyPride

By LadyPride

Train drain

This has been my view for at least five hours of today. Had an early start and several train journeys so I could attend important meetings in Derbyshire and Nottingham. I could have taken the Monster Truck but I don't trust myself to drive on so little sleep so the train it was!

The meetings were important as they will redefine my position regarding my business (I don't want - nor am I ready - to go back to working full-time yet) whilst hopefully giving me a (small) degree of financial stability. They were difficult meetings and required some tricky negotiations in order to keep my clients happy; whilst managing their expectations about my ongoing involvement.

But they went well. As well as I could have hoped. It has been such a difficult and stressful year in business for me - in other circumstances I would be celebrating the fact that my PR company is so much in demand but the fact that I'm not feeling able to return to work just yet makes me feel like a failure instead.

Half way through one of the negotiations, I glanced down and saw a text from my husband who was working at home today to help his parents look after Audrey. It simply said, "She managed to sit up on her own!"

And that, Ladies and Gentleman is precisely why I am not going back to work full-time. I refuse to miss the little things like that. Audrey won't be a baby forever. She won't even be a baby a year from now. The business will have to wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.