Two by Two

I took a drive to where I've been seeing a lot of sand hill cranes. They didn't disappoint. 15-20 cranes, along with 50-60 geese.

Both groups are feasting in the cornfields...trying to fatten up for the long voyage south.

The way they were head bobbing in the corn reminded me of the Nathan's July 4th hot dog eating contest. Last year...the men's winner ate 62 hot dogs, and the women's winner ate 40. IN TEN MINUTES! Disgusting...and also disgusting that it is televised on ESPN. What kind of sport is that?

The cranes and geese were not quite in that kind of a hurry, but you can sense that they are eating with a purpose. Their digestive system must really be remarkable. To swallow those kernels whole, and then to eventually unload on an unsuspecting tourist...like I said...remarkable.

I chose the title because it looks to me that these 4 are waiting for the second coming of Noah's Ark. Two by two.

Take a look at Merrick last night on my Flickr page. 2 months ago...near the end of our driveway...a complete stranger stopped in his car and joked..."Keep Charlie Brown away from the street!!!"

Good grief! That's who he was. Charlie Brown. We were impressed with the little man. He liked to pass out the candy more than he liked getting it. The other trick-or-treaters were a little taken aback when he put the candy into their bag, then Merrick said thank you. Cookie Monster is my future son-in-law Benton, and nephew Scott squeezed in there, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.