madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Peas and Beans!

Another morning on the allotment - but this time planting seeds! Took just as long as I had to put all the beautiful compost from one of my compost bins into a wheelbarrow to fill the bean trenches! Plus  the construction of the bamboo poles to support the beans! 5  varieties of beans plus 2 dwarf varieties, then one bed of broad beans and 3 of peas! Finally covered them all with old raspberry canes to deter birds, mice and the mutant rabbit! Yes the rabbit fiend from last year is back and has moved on from using my strawberry bed as a toilet to hoovering down all the slug pellets round my dahlia tubers!  Luckily it didn't dig the tubers up but I think it had already nibbled their new shoots, I thought it was slugs hence the pellets! Plus it also ate a whole foxglove! That rabbit has a cast iron constitution! 
On arriving home I went to cut some more of the  lilac which is overhanging my neighbours garden. Once it finishes flowering I will saw all the big branches off - such a shame as it really is flowering fabulously nor it's got so big! But is is doing so too high and too much over the neighbours garden! Luckily a man I know was walking past as I was doing so and he helped! I was going to give him some but he is off to Lisbon - how lucky is he! Lisbon is one of my favourite cities! So I now have a huge vase full,  which now I know to bash their stalks with a hammer to stop them wilting, I will be able to blip in the next couple of days! My front room smells delightful! As does my back yard with this wisteria! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.