Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Light

I may have been in artistic mode as I opened my copy of Tate etc, not long before taking this shot. But actually the end of the day sun was just so lovely that I couldn’t resist this. Anyway the cover piece in the magazine was Egon Schiele whose main forte was distorted genitals, which isn’t really coming from the same place (pardon the pun). I know his work intimately as I had the hots for an art student in the late 1970s and she got me to type her dissertation for her, which was about Schiele. It didn’t help the relationship, and I wasn’t a very good typist anyway.

I worked hard in the sun, and did a really good job on the garden. A lot of heavy lifting, mowed the grass, did a bit of tidying. By 3 o’clock I was past my prime however and couldn’t pick up a rake. It was a bit like "12 o’clock High" when Gary Cooper couldn’t lift himself into his aeroplane to bomb Germany (okay a bit too dramatic I know but I always associate that scene with being really really tired).

Took Dylan out for walkies which he seemed to enjoy. And had lots of chats with neighbours. We’re a friendly little cul de sac. I also cooked vegan mushroom carbonara - my creative cooking slot, which was nice. Then TSM and I poured a glass of wine / plum vodka and sat out as it got dark wrapped in blankets, talking about life, the universe and nothing in particular. Scout of course got between us and wriggled his bum into the blankets and settled down to sleep.

Been a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.