Different stages of growth

Eighteen months ago I bought two bare root Magnolias. A year ago it was apparent that one was dud - no sign of life at all. The other produced a few side shoots and leaves but no flowers. I told the supplier one was dud and they sent me not one, but two replacements in November. I planted them in pots and again one started to shoot during the winter but the other looked dead.
Come the spring and the older one (on the left) produced half a dozen blooms, the more advanced of the replacements (on the right) showed definite shoots and leaves but no blooms, the other (in the middle) looked dead.
On returning from my holiday yesterday I noticed it is not dead - there will be a few leaves! So next year I may have blooms on all three.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.