Simply Me

By Suze981

Trails

Today I was supposed to be running a 15k trail run around Helvellyn in the Lake District. I didn't end up going.

The area was waterlogged, meaning that I couldn't get to the start field with my folks' car - we'd have to get up super early, drive to Penrith and get a bus from there. We'd of had to have left at 7am to get there originally, so this would have meant a 6am start and it was sleeting/snowing at my parents at that time. They almost crashed the car on the ice as it was!

All things considered, I decided that it wasn't a great idea. I thought I'd go running in the Pentlands instead.

As I set off through the trees I took this shot. I was loving it, just me, running and the trees. That was until I turned the next corner... The ground conditions were not good and I was really concerned about falling. It seems my trail shoes are not hill shoes; they didn't give me enough confidence. As a runner, you have to be safe and you certainly have to know when you can run and when you should stop. So I stopped early and headed home. I'll go running again tomorrow.

I spent the rest of the day trying on bridesmaid dresses in Edinburgh with my mam. I'm knackered now!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.