LadyPride

By LadyPride

Audrey's First Family Bonfire Night

Bonfire Night is bigger than Christmas in my family. Through the years and generations, we have gathered in November at my parents farm; standing (freezing cold) on top of an exposed hill in the Pennines to watch a pile of disused wood and bric-a-brac go up in flames. Then it's down to the house for my Grandma's black peas and my Mum's potato pie and generous hospitality, served with lashings of red cabbage and bonhomie.

Last year my Dad signalled everyone's attention half way through the evening by tapping his knife against his wine glass and making a small speech; breaking the news to my family that I was expecting. It only seems like five minutes ago. This year, we arrived with the little bundle herself (albeit in a fractious mood). Next year, she'll probably be walking (and hopefully a bit cheerier). These family Bonfire Nights will no doubt come and go as she grows a little bit more each time.

Having said that, this years's Bonfire Night was a bit of a mission - Audrey seemed affected by so many new faces and a strange house - many meltdowns ensued and she'd only sleep on the bed in my old room in the end! It took 40mins to settle her each time which was pretty exhausting.

It was still worth it though (my Mum's potato pie was one of her best and it was lovely to catch up with everyone including my Grandma who despite having flu was happy to sit and be bored looking at my many many pictures of Audrey).

And besides in years to come we'll be to tell Audrey all about her First Family Bonfire Night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.