Beauty is all around us.

By Grace55

Hawes, The Yorkshire Dales.

Paul and me drove to Hawes, a favourite place of ours, just for the afternoon. I counted 30 cars with their soft tops down, which is a childish game I play to entertain us! I included the photo of a Morgan car model, that Paul pointed out to me. So stylish.
The weather was cool on the journey there, but sunny and 23c on the way home. The Dales countryside looked beautiful and there were still many little lambs sitting under the trees with the older sheep.
We wandered along the main street, visited a few shops and I enjoyed visiting the wonderful Rock and Gem shop. I collect crystals, so this little shop is marvellous. I bought a few crystals and a small orthoceras which is is from Morocco, in the Atlas Mountains and 410 million years old. 
We had lunch at a welcoming tea room and I had pear and Wensleydale salad. As we played Quiddler, a card game, waiting to be served there were 
myriads of motorcyclists zooming by.
They had been meeting up at the centre of Hawes and enjoying fish and chips or ice creams.
We visited a lovely waterfall and then St. Margaret's Parish Church.
They have some exquisite stained glass windows and sensible play areas for the children.
We bought a couple of cheeses from the iconic Cheese Creamery, Kit Calvert, and Wensleydale Blue cheese, which is delicious.
I hope the weather is kind to all of us for the week ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.