Baby Wren

A dull but calm morning.  As the day progressed, so did the wind.  Almost gales tonight, and rain has followed.

I've been working at the Croft House Museum.  It was a quiet morning, but staggered visitors again.  I had more in the afternoon, and also Brae High School had 6th year students for a visit.  With the gales due tomorrow, I've taken down hanging baskets and tucked away flower pots.  It was a novelty walking Sammy in the rain, not had any in weeks now, so I'd think there will be a good boost to wild flora over the weekend.  Off to work in the pub later. 

I headed out for a walk at lunchtime, and was busy snapping old buildings at a fishing station.  As I stepped on a wall, a flurry of mootie wrens rushed out.  Mother wren was in a real fluster, as she watched her peerie babies fly about the old walls.  I tried to snap a photo, but most were too quick.  I managed to get this baby wren.  I believe our Shetland wren is different from the Scottish one.  Taken at Brough Head, Exnaboe, Sumburgh. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.