Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

My gardener came today...

My gardener came today.

I must say, that sounds so nice, I’ll say it again…

My gardener came today. My hedge looks very tidy. Nothing like a well trimmed hedge, I always say.

And I did a bit of gardening. Well, I picked up a few leaves off the path and chucked them near some plants. This gardening lark is easy!

Uncle A came for an inspection. I think he liked the new flat. He said, ‘Hmmm’ Lots of times. There was a perceptible enthusiasm for the back garden though!

This evening we went to the Travel Clinic for our Yellow Fever jab. The anxiety levels reached fever pitch (Yellow Fever pitch!) when filling in a form beforehand.

Question 5: Do you suffer from needle phobia?

Well, now you come to mention it…

Anyway, it was nothing. Just a wee prick. As it were. But there may be flu like symptoms in a day or two. The doctor did point out that there is a risk for the over 60s with this - 20 in a million of us old codgers will suffer a multi organ failure and death reaction... I reckoned the odds were worth the gamble. After all, the odds of getting Yellow Fever if I didn’t have the jab would be more.

Unfortunately, she recommended THREE more jabs that are on the NHS and should be had - Hepatitis A, Typhoid, Diphtheria/Tetanus/Polio. EeeeK!

This was a desperate shot this evening. These desperate lads are obviously off to paint the town red.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.