Herrenchiemsee and a 2 (1)

After a delightful drive through the mountain passes we arrived at Chiemsee. This is Bavaria’s largest lake, also known as the ‘Bavarian Sea.’ We were just in time to catch the 11:30 passenger ferry at Prien to sail over to Herreninsel and Herrenchiemsee, the largest and most expensive castle built by Ludwig 2nd.

It was built as a temple to Versailles, but Ludwig never got to finish it due to his untimely demise in 1886 at the tender age of 40.

My favourite room was the ‘Hall of Mirrors,’ a 98 metre long of mirrors, crystal chandeliers and very tall standing gold gilded candelabras. Totally mind blowing.

I enjoyed admiring the artistry and craftsmanship of what I have seen over the past few days. I also think it’s totally ostentatious and fussy. I also think Ludwig was narcissistic, selfish and greedy. But that’s just my personal opinion. I’m still glad I’ve seen it all.

We stopped for a break at Fern Pass on the way back to the hotel. The views were spectacular; majestic mountain peaks and lakes with crystal blue green water, excellent soul food for me and Tom.

There was no time for a quick swim before dinner. In fact there has been no time to swim at all due to the busy schedule of the week.

We had some exciting news this evening, Charlotte is now a Bachelor of Music (BMus), officially with a 2 (I). We are both so proud of her and are looking forward to celebrating with her at the graduation in July.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.