Broken

I phoned the garage and arranged to to take the car in at lunchtime to find out what was going on with the warning light.

When I got there I went for a wee walk alongside the burn but the seat was taken (if you look carefully). The flag irises were out and being visited by the pollinators. I liked the high contrast water as it slipped over the small weir and really liked the detail in the submerged post (the one with the flowing weed  - not so much). they were obviously from an old crossing point/bridge which is also there but not suitable for the lens I had.
I still wouldn't be able to make it in time.

I collected Squirrel from the playpark where one of Bags' friends was waiting with her and got her home where I made her tea just as her father arrived home so he was able to get her to her Rainbows session (a younger version of Brownies)

In the meantime it had been established that The Cygnets arm was indeed broken - just above his elbow (which would have been worse). However, it required an operation to set it and since they have closed the children's ward in Livingston, he had to be taken into the Sick Kids in Edinburgh.

The result was I went home to get something to eat, Son-in-law took Squirrel to her Rainbows, his mother collected Squirrel and was keeping her overnight and getting her to school in the morning - I then collected son-in-law and we went in to the Sick kids so that I could collect SWMBO and he could collect Bag's car since she would be spending the night with The Cygnet in hospital.

Still with me?

When we got there The Cygnet was out of surgery complete with a stookie and wires inserted to hold the bones together. I am not sure he was as happy as the markings on his arm would imply , but he was able to raise a smile when I told him that his thumb was on fire (it didn't turn out too well as it was taken on my phone)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.