A True Gardener!

Rain was forecast so I was up early and on the allotment to get my brassicas into my newly dug bed. So satisfying to finally be at the planting stage! The rain came in earlier than they said it would - but it was more of a fine mizzle and `I was not going to be deterred! A true gardener is not a fair-weather gardener! The worst part was getting the cage built - I'd miscalculated the size of the canes I needed and was left with ten short ones and used up 8 of the ten long ones! I also miscalculated the size of the net I'd bought - and only discovered my mistake once it was draped over the canes! So down to the kale cage and cutting the bunched up unused bit of net and hoping it would be big enough. It was but of course then I had to sew up all the holes in it! By this time I was very wet and muddy and a little cold and tired! Finally it was done! I will need to put protectors on the ends of the canes to prevent myself from getting my eyes poked, but that would have to be another day! It was time to go home, change and eat!
I got this photo in the evening at hen bedtime. Lots of lovely rain for a very dry allotment! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.