Rodents rule

By squirk

Feed me

Juno hops on one of the kitchen stools to demonstrate that he's hungry. This shot was taken when I came home from work this evening.

My day started with an all-clear at the dentist (whoop!) I'm always slightly terrified of having my teeth examined, but I was good and even confessed to some heat sensitivity, which the dentist wasn't worried about. However, just after he took X-rays of my teeth, he said, “Basically” and I waited for the bad news. Then he said again, “Basically” to which I looked in his direction, bracing myself. Seeing my expression he said, a little more slowly, “Basic clean?” Phew.

I celebrated the good news with a phonecall to Fred in sunny Kirkcudbright and a sticky bun with coffee for breakfast.

This evening I was munching on some raw carrots when my bottom teeth crunched up on my top teeth, and I chipped one of my front shiners! I'd make a rubbish rabbit. There is a slight sense of injustice by injuring a tooth by eating vegetables rather than treacle toffee. The chip isn't at all bad, just a wee indent.

As it's the Summer Solstice, I celebrated the long hours by varnishing the front door's threshold (saddle). I had to look up what that part of the doorway was called – 'the bit you step over' is a bit cumbersome. Now I know. My upstairs neighbours arrived home just after I'd lodged the door semi-open with a sack of peanuts. I had to go and explain and, lacking the terminology for 'the bit you step over' confused things a little bit, but we got there in the end. It's nice to have them back as I've been rattling around the building in continuous fear of sleeping through all the alarms. I woke on the third one this morning! I was still early for the dentist, though. As I was chatting to Fred earlier, we realised that I'm only ever early for one person – the dentist. 

After a wee chat with upstairs, I caught up on some ironing while watching  https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2112293/?ref_=nm_knf_i2, which I found more sad than comic. It's by the same director as the film I watched last night and has much the same pace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.