Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Our summer garden

I was up very early this morning as the taxi arrived at 6am to collect Adam and Jenni to take them to the airport - they are now in Santorini enjoying the sunshine and relaxing for a week. I had so many chores to do today that I decided to get on with my day and did not go back to bed.

I changed the bedding - what a chore, am I the only one that finds this such a time consuming thing to do? - plus I like my bedding ironed so it becomes an even bigger faff than necessary. I managed to fit in a run before the painters arrived all bright and breezy at 8am, then got on with my errands.....butcher, dry cleaner, post office to post a parcel for Adam, post office collection depot to pick up another one - not the same place but in another village - that they supposedly attempted to deliver yesterday and said we were not home - there were actually 3 of us at home when they 'attempted delivery' ...then to shop for groceries for the weekend and back home to meet the lawn man.

The reason for the lawn man....as pleased as I am with the plants in my new garden, I am very disappointed with my newly laid lawn. At first it resembled a bowling green, flat and smooth and beautifully lush and green. Now it is going brown in patches and seems to have lighter coloured circles all over the lawn. The lawn man is the manager of the garden company that laid the new lawn and he came to see what can be done about it - he said more water is needed - although we do irrigate every day - and did not say much about the patches. However our gardener says the patches are a horrible lawn seed that has crept in due to the lawn that was laid not being of good quality, which had me freaking out as the lawn cost an absolute fortune to rectify a few months ago and now this problem again....

Anyway, this is just a boring image of part of our beds that are in the front area of our house and it is looking so pretty at the moment with the white hydrangeas in bloom that I wanted a record of, to remember how pretty it is in summer compared to how bleak it will be in winter. 

Luke and Meriel arrive tonight - two gone and two arrive....fridge is all re-stocked and the weather looks really good for the weekend with a heatwave predicted for next week (oh no, my poor plants!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.