Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Tower and Chapel

I was walking past Trinity College in Oxford on my way to my office this morning (better not look at the time on the clock, although actually I had just been for an eye test). Seeing the tower and the chapel in the sunlight made me realise that I rarely photograph interesting buildings like this because I go past them every day. I thought that for once I would share the view.

In fact, the chapel is one of the finest in Oxford. It was designed by Dean Aldrich (with advice from Christopher Wren) and consecrated in 1694. It stands on the site of an earlier chapel (that of of Durham College), which was consecrated on 27 January 1410, and then became Trinity's first chapel.

I just remembered that I presented a contribution to Blipfoto more than two years ago that was a photograph taken from the top of this tower at the conclusion of a not entirely abstemious dinner. We almost certainly should not have been up there! And I can assure my readers that the sound of the bells for the clock is deafening (and quite scary) when you are sitting right by them. On 6 May 2010, however, it was still light enough after 9 pm to take outdoor photographs. That wasn't true this evening (afternoon, even), a good four hours earlier.

Today's photo graph was taken looking north from a street running west to east. Another road running north affords this view to the west, looking across the fine lawn of the garden, towards the Garden Quadrangle, and some excellent and mixed architecture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.