Haar

Over the past few weeks I’ve mentioned the haar. When I was growing up it was not a word widely known but it’s use seems to have spread.

It is a rolling mist where the air, cooled by the cold sea encounters warm land. I remember years ago being on a beach on the east cost standing the glorious sunshine. But at the shoreline where the sea was lapping onto the beach the mist was formed in a bank. You could stand at the water’s edge and put your hand in the mist.

To avoid the Ironman route to get to North Berwick to visit my mother I had to go further east where I encountered the haar. . You could not see Tantallon Castle from the road - normally easily seen. Even on the outskirts of North Berwick the mist hovered. Yet one mile further on my mother’s garden was bathed in sunshine as the extra shows.

The main blip shows the clouds forming and thinning over the fields.

Got back Monday mid-afternoon and worked in the garden until 7:30 tidying up and planting. Beginning to look a bit more civilised.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.