Copenhagen - Day 1

By 07.15 this morning (after a late night that included the laundry), I was up and getting warmed up quickly.  The clothes were packed so it was only the computer and cables, plus making sure we had the essentials -- passport, tickets, money, medication for AW.  At 08.40, good friend H showed up, as agreed with AW, to drive us to the airport.  I will make sure to buy him a gift as he will also pick us up.

Our first time in Copenhagen.  Thanks to asking many questions, we learned that the best way to get to our B&B was to take the train to Central Station, and from there Bus 1A.  We found the right bus stop at once and I knew from studying the map where 'our' street should be, and sure enough 'there' it was.  Our hostess was home, and the introductions and keys took about 10 minutes.  Nan took advantage of the garden to have a smoke, and AW to enjoy the sun, while I set up 'headquarters'.  After about 1.5 hours, we took the bus back to the city centre and walked about a bit, which was when this shot was taken.  This was followed by a stroll into town, during which we discovered that the Copenhagen Jazz Festival was on, so lovely music all around.  AW had wanted to walk about a bit more but I was starting to feel hypoglycemic and needed a bit 'at once'.  The restaurant we ended up choosing had the yummiest organic food I have ever tasted, including my favourite black tea with 1/2 fresh lemon.  AW and Nan ordered the same.  Really, really yummy, and wholesome, food.  I also decided to pass by the boat office and get the info we need for tomorrow.

No, I haven't met The Little Mermaid yet, but I believe we'll be making her acquaintance tomorrow.  Can you imagine that Nan has never heard of Hans Christian Andersen?  She's been a lot busy on the phone with her boyfriend (he's a bit ill at the moment), but also taking pictures of everything new.  They'll be on her FB page soon ... and I'm always curious about what she has chosen to shoot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.