Spreading The Harvest!

I had invited Vegan Jo up to the plot to harvest the glut of gooseberries. I was there early as it was my hen open, but my bowels were dodgy and I left the house in a rush after getting up early when I realised how late the time was - about 8am! In my haste I forgot to have breakfast and after doing the hens I felt the IBS raising it's ugly head. I looked in my bag for the Graze snacks I always carry, but I'd forgotten they needed replenishing. I munched on some peas and raspberries and texted Jo to bring food! Then realised I had eggs! So popped one in my kettle in the shed and boiled it - Jo came with bread and marmalade just as it was ready! We sat in my director chairs outside the shed with a cup of rhubarb tea, and the egg sandwich just took the edge off my IBS.
I gave Jo a tour of my plot and a  tasting of the good and not so good peas, the latter we gave to the hens! I then showed her where the gooseberries were on the spare half plot of the hens and I disappeared into my fruit cage! Wouldn't you believe but a RAF  plane flew over real low - never seen one so low - looked as if it was just skimming the tops of the trees at the top end of the allotment! Damn and no camera with me in the cage! 
After picking some kale and spinach to go in the sweet potato stew and some for Jo which she intends to have in a smoothie (yuk!) we headed home for lunch. I shared some of my redcurrants and blackcurrants that I'd picked and told her she could be my blip for the day!
After lunch with polenta cake for pudding, me with gooseberry fool and she with redcurrant coulis, she read the instructions of the blood type kit I'd bought after our last conversation about blood types. Well the plastic lancet wouldn't work and as she read the instructions again I fiddled with it and it clicked - done it I said! But unfortunately I had not realised it's a once only use and I hadn't done it on my finger! I got out a spike that you make initial holes  with when putting in screws - Jo thought I was going to plunge it in my finger! I was trying to release the lancet from it's plastic tube - only succeeded in breaking the tip of the lancet off!  Jo is going to get a proper lancet from her place of work and we will try again Saturday! 
After she left I spent the rest of the day quietly as the IBS just wouldn't settle even though I'd fed it! Ungrateful beast!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.