madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Not The Right Eggs!

The hens have changed their place to hide their eggs again! I'm not sure if the hot weather stopped them laying , even Henrietta and Izzy have stopped being broody and are no longer sitting in the coop all day! I did find 5 eggs yesterday amongst the teasles, but only 1 today! But I was fascinated to see the different flowering of the teasles - apparently they "start  in a ring around the equator of the flowerhead, and spread upwards and downwards in two rings on opposite hemispheres." Their flower head is egg shaped! 
So pleased that today I finally finished the last brassica bed - Romanesque Cabbages in and cage erected! I do hope after all this hard work they do produce cabbage heads! But at least the beds have been dug over and will all the more easy for planting next year!  At least some of my squash are producing - a round green courgette and a stunning yellow one! No boring green courgettes for me! I can see green patty pans forming too! Two of the types of peas are now ready to be picked  - but one lot although large are hard and tasteless - ok in a fish stew though! The others may not make it home as they are so sweet picked and eaten straight out the pod!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.