madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Leaving

A most rage inducing day! I took Oscar to the vets so that they coud give him the eye drops or give an alternative treatment. Well Oscar wouldn't even go in the building! He sat then lay on the ground and was not for moving. A woman in a blue vets top was going in and stopped to talk to me and I suggested she try taking him in - didn't work. Then a very large lady arrived and just gently ushered him in! Turns out she was actually one of the staff and the lady I had given Oscar to was going in to pay her bill!! Once in Oscar wouldn't go near the treatment rooms and kept going to the door! Come his turn with a push and a shove I managed to get him in.
Well! The vet put a dye in his eye and said he had an ulcer which would be causing him great pain. Drops twice or three times a day! I asked if they would  be able to do that if I brought him in which he agreed to. Then he attempted to put the drops in - no way! Oscar struggled just as he did with me and the vet refused my help! So he said give painkillers and with longer time it should heal up, but if not then they would sew up his third eye to allow it to heal which of course would need general anaesthetic! Over my dead body! Just because he was useless at putting in drops! 
I remembered with my last dog there had been a couple of occassions when I had misgivings about his treatment, and once a young vet shook my elderly cat out of her basket whilst  holding it upside down. Word on Kit Hill amongst the other dog walkers is that they are not a good vets. They are always friendly, especially the secretaries and nurses, but with his big op coming up in September to remove his retained testicle I am not feeling the trust in the vets. I also think oscar would not be happy being left there. Apparently there is a vet outside Launceston that the Kit Hill walkers highly recommneded so I shall try to track down an address for them. 
Once home I let Oscar settle after giving him his pain meds. He actually slept for the rest of the day - maybe the heat had something to do with it too. Whilst at the vets I had to wait a long time so had time to browse their wares! I  bought a huge cooling gel mat. It absorbs  the heat out of the animal as they lay on it - the gel softening as it does so, once the dog gets off it it hardens and is ready to use again! I didn't think oscar would accept it that readily but I put it down n the hallway where he likes to cool off and lo and behold he lay on it immediatly! Come the eve  I found a thin pair of latex gloves and put some of his eye drops on my finger. I gently played with Oscar and stroked his head and when he was offguard rubbed my finger over his eye! Success! 
With all the stress and worry of the day I hadn't taken a single photo - luckily when I went to bring in my pepper plants for the night I discovered a cooling mist of rain was falling - so as well as standing there being cooled down I took a photo of the agapanthus! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.