Runners

I've been running for over 20 years now. Nearly always on my own, usually two or three times a week. Twice I took part in the Kirkby Lonsdale 12 before they stopped that event and once my brother and I ran the Carlisle half-marathon. Very occasionally, I run with some one else, perhaps once or twice a year, but for the most part running is a solitary event for me. 

But despite the fact I don't run with anyone else and even though I've never joined a running club, I do feel a bond with other runners. If I see someone running I always have an 'aw' moment; a surge of empathy and affection. I think it comes from knowing just what it takes to get yourself out there sometimes and how it's not always easy once you do. 

Sometimes I find myself murmuring "Good on you".

****
-12.5 kgs
0 words
Reading: David McCourt's 'Total Rethink'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.