Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

New gate

Another cold shower this morning - just as well that new boiler is coming on Monday!

I moved around slightly more than yesterday (4833 steps - not much, but better than the 71 yesterday). Although I was very tempted to sit and watch the Tour de France for an hour so, I took Archie out for a walk. JR was meeting up with an ex-colleague.

We walked down to the duck pond, where I saw the new (to me) gates. I thought of walking on to the big paddock, but decided against it - I was tired, sore knees, sore back and to cap it all - cramping toes. What a state! I walked along to get the bus back, although it was kind of a roundabout route. It's a long slope all the way back home from the duck pond, so I really didn’t feel up to it.

However, I did manage to give Archie a shower when we got home. He's been a bit doggy-whiffy, but we were waiting for new sensitive skin shampoo to arrive with his kibble. He's been scratching quite a lot (not fleas!) and when he does, he bangs his foot on the floor, like Thumper in Bambi (that shows my age). He often does it in the middle of the night, and I’m sure the neighbours wonder what's going on.

We ordered his kibble online for the first time - much easier to get it delivered rather than wrestle it into the car from the shop. Cheaper too. Only taken us four and a half years to realise this.

He ran around in the back garden to dry off. For the first time ever, he kept fetching the ball! He fetched and fetched for ages. In fact, I gave up first. Of course, each fetch was rewarded with a (tiny) treat. He wouldn’t do it just for the fun of it!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.