Heart and Souled

By DebsP

Two leaves left

Tree leaves that is. Nick Drake's first album "Five Leaves Left" references the old Rizla cigarette paper warnings and is one of my most favourite records ever.

I wended my way to this photograph today, selecting and looking and finding this tree at the end of our walk, in the gloom, very appealing. I've seen some gorgeous blips of bare trees and feel such sadness that our landscapes will change with "ash die back" (a disease threatening I think one sixth of our tree population). I'm trying to hold on to the fact that our landscape is always evolving and new trees will come. In the mean time I'm treasuring the ones that mark my way, and my freedom to enjoy them. My debt to all who delivered me this freedom as we remember.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.