Ring o Brodger

A dull morning, but it soon cleared into a warm and sunny day.  Mist has been hanging over the hills of Hoy.

The party is over now, and time to start being a tourist.  After breakfast, I made my way the hairdresser and chopped off the beard and hair! Headed to Stromness for lunch at Albert and Anne's home, and spent a while yapping.  Toured about the Stromness area and walks too.  Arrived at Skara Brae, but they were closing.  I'll take a walk about Kirkwall this evening. 

On our way back to Kirkwall, we stopped off at the Ring of Brodgar.  This is the largest Neolithic standing stone circle in Scotland, which is more than 340 feet in diameter and consisting of 25 huge stones.  I'm sure the last time I was here, you could walk up to them, too many cruise ship passengers now and it's out to a stop, thankfully no cruise ships about today.  Taken at Brodgar, Orkney. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.