Blotter

The accounts for 2017/2018 are complete! Actually, I wasn't that excited by this news; I always have a good grasp of how we're doing as a company and although it's always quite interesting to see how a financial year gets presented by the accountants, it's only an interpretation of a reality to which I'm very attuned. 

Anyway, one of the lads from the accountants, Darren, came across to the office today to get my signature on the various bits of paper that have to be submitted to HMRC. I say lad - I guess he's in his thirties - but he's a very competent guy and he generally makes my life easier. 

I usually write with a fountain pen, so after each signature, I used a blotter to soak up the excess ink. Darren was genuinely bemused by this. I wouldn't say this made me feel old - even when I was at school, only a handful of us used fountain pens - but I did feel that pang of something I love tumbling away into to history and the realms of nostalgia. 

****
-12.1 kgs
0 words
‘A History Of Seven Killings’ by Marlon James

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.