Van Gogh

I wouldn't say that my taste in art is particularly sophisticated. I mean, you'll have heard of all of the artists that I love. And I suspect that there are a lot of people out there who would cite Van Gogh as their favourite artist. Well that's OK; I'm not here for the arty kudos. 

I was really keen to see the current exhibition at Tate Britain and whilst it's great that it's completely sold out, it was lucky that our Tate Membership got us in, regardless. It was, however, pretty busy but it was worth it. 

One aspect of art history that I hadn't picked up on before was how open artists were about borrowing from one another's work. I was surprised to see close copies of other artists' work and also to see just how late on in his life Van Gogh developed his own distinctive style. 

But the bit of knowledge that surprised me most - because I'd never really thought about the dates before - was that while Van Gogh lived in London, he travelled on the Underground!

****
No scales
Reading: 'Case Histories' by Kate Atkinson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.