Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

The shape of things to come

HG Wells story was made into a film by Alexander Korda in 1936, and posited that from the ravages of a dystopian post war world a shiny new order would emerge. One where everyone travelled along silver tubes to the sound of dramatic music, and wore togas. Actually I think togas would be good; this heatwave has made me rethink the sartorial requirements associated with global warming. Although not if you like to go to commando.

This is in fact just a swivel chair in the opticians where TSM got her new glasses today. But I like it when the everyday suggests a line of thought, a flight of fancy. It made me think of Shape Of Things To Come. There is actually an oversexed warlord demanding the impossible and leading his people to ruin just like Trump, and the food shortages and general collapse in the Mad Max phase of the film could be just like Brex-

Sorry. I’ve promised not to use the B word, I am trying to be more positive.

TGR got back to Vancouver okay but the bus trip up to Whistler was a nightmare. Still she is home and safe, that’s all that matters.

I am preparing to go back to work on a phased basis starting on Thursday although I have reservations; my physical and mental health are immeasurably better than they were six weeks or even two weeks ago but I feel anxious about the possibility of things going backwards again. But the future is now different (if such a phrase is logically possible) as I am definitely only doing a four day week. That is my new regime, for which I am very grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.