Heart and Souled

By DebsP

Enron

OK, Enron shredded their files, I'm burning mine.
When our dear neighbour passed away in 2009 we had the grim task of sifting through his papers looking for family. Filed, carefully, was a letter dated 1937 (to his parents) gently pointing out that they had overlooked payment for a book they had received. My paperwork swiftly underwent an 'Enron' moment in an attempt to keep on top of things. Today I tidied up our bank statements to the seven year legal minimum.

I bought a shoe horn today. These new walking boots are proving a right pain to get on and off. The shoe repairer had a tiny one, or a really long one for folk who can't bend. I'm took the long one (it's downhill at my age) and for some reason offered "I'll be able to beat my husband on the backside with this". "Lucky bugger! you'll get an increase in your housekeeping*"!!! He replied. I was flabbergasted and amused at the same time!
*If you're from a different era, or continent, this refers to the money a husband passed to his wife for the running of the house. Old ways die hard.


Not sure how I'll be with comments and blipping for two days, a treasured friend is staying. x x x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.