2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Radio reunited or 2LO Calling

This was the moment, at 17.33 tonight when BBC Radio across the world came together for a unique broadcast to mark 90 years of BBC Radio.

A bit about it here

There was a lot packed into the 3 minute piece that was created by Damon Albarn for the occassion. If you missed it there is a listen again facility on the link.

I thought about blipping an old valve radio but on reflection I went for a symbol of the wide variety of ways we can now listen to the radio: in cars, on our phones, on the internet, through our TV's. The list goes on.

Our local radio station asked for our early memories of radio.

I can't remember exactly my first memory, but my most vivid memories centre around football.

As an 11 year old boy I sat in the back room listening to a crackling commentary of Aston Villa v Orient. A draw that night sent my team, Carlisle United, into the old First Division.

In 1999 I listened to Jimmy Glass scoring a goal that kept Carlisle in the Football League. The commentary in the clip is the actual radio commentary from the match.

It was radio that brought me the news of the Bradford City Fire and the Hillsborough disaster and I recall pulling over in the car, crying.

In much happier times, radio has brought me the excitement of The FA Cup draw and the unforgetable news that London would host the 2012 Olympics.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.