Life In Wales

By KarenC

Beachy Head Lighthouse

I had lots of chores planned for today - food shop, washing and ironing, but as the forecast was for rain, it was a good day for it.  However, this morning it was quite sunny and warm, so I decided to go for a drive to Beachy Head while it was nice.  Alan had things he wanted to do at home, so didn't come, but I didn't plan to stay long and quite enjoyed my little road trip.

I got there about 11am, and as I drove up Beachy Head Road, I spotted lots of men one Penny Farthing bikes, so I pulled into the car park to try and get some photos.  I asked what they were doing, and it turns out that one of the guys lives locally, builds the bikes and organises a yearly challenge for his customers to cycle up the hill to Beachy Head.  When I saw them they were about to go back down the hill, but the bikes don't have breaks!    I've added a couple of photos to my extras, although I didn't get any good ones of them actually cycling.

I then drove on to the car park near the lighthouse and set off on foot with my telephoto lens fitted to my camera, which turned out to be the wrong choice, although this one is pretty clear and looks like an aerial shot.  It's a little more interesting than the usual shot which is also in my extras.  I stayed there for about an hour before driving to the supermarket.

When I got home I spent a couple of hours ironing and my basket is actually empty for once!  I also made a roast dinner with a joint of beef, and then had a soak in the hot tub while it was cooking as the rain never actually came, other than a slight shower.

Hope you've all had a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.