Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Fountain re-visited

A busy day, and apart from Jordan coming to take Archie out, it was filled with meetings with experts -

The head teacher, to discuss litter in the area, mainly, but not exclusively, dropped by his school pupils. We had a convivial meeting, discussing much more than litter.

The doctor, to discuss my blood test results - not good, but not bad either - the test indicated inflammation, which in turn suggests PMR. which I’ve been telling every doctor I've seen over the past year, but none of them thought to do a blood test! The good bit is that it's curable, but the side effects of the pills are Not Nice - eg weight gain, moon face.

The physio, who gave me a longer session of Western Acupuncture, another leg exercise, and wants to see me next week. I still need to build up my muscles.

I was SO looking forward to having another ice cream from the shop next to the bus stop. But the sudden monsoon shower of rain spoiled the mood. Five minutes later, the sun was out and it was steaming hot, so I hopped off the (crowded) bus in town to walk through the Gardens and look at the Ross Fountain again, as I haven’t seen it since it was turned on a month or so ago. And what a splendid sight it is, gushing away 24/7.

Another very crowded bus, and an elderly lady was sitting reading a book, but she happened to be sitting in the 'buggy seats'. A young woman with a buggy got on and stood looking at her. The elderly lady seemed confused, and didn’t immediately react. A man with the young mother (who said nothing), started shouting at the seated lady to 'Hurry up and move!', and when she didn’t move fast enough for his liking, he began swearing at her.

I shouted at him from a few seats away, 'You could be polite about it!' The woman next to me said, 'Well said. What a rude man.' No need for such behaviour.

I stopped off in Bruntsfield to do my little errand from yesterday, so by the time I eventually got home, I was too stuffed to go to the evening Fringe show we'd promised Janet we'd attend. Maybe tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.