Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Beard envy

JR had her executive housekeeping job this morning (after the gym) but as it was a nice day, and I was feeling enegetic slightly less lerathgic than usual, Archie and I were dropped off up the hill, and walked through the Hermitage. (7,603 steps). It's such a lovely walk, on the level, lots of doggies to meet, river to paddle in and have a drink, convenient benches, and even a cafe at the end. But all I can think of is 'When will it be over?' I got the bus home from there, 70 minutes later.

In the afternoon JR went down to see the Craft Fair. Archie and I had no interest in this. But sunshine lured us out again. I thought I should pop down to the Royal Mile again, as I haven’t really bothered this year. I stuffed my pocket with loose change to give to folk if I took a photo of statues etc. But the ones giving out wee posters don’t need to be paid. So the money was still weighing me down when I hopped on the bus home again.

I sat beside a young chap in a kilt and bow tie, carrying his bagpipes. He admired Archie and we had a chat. His grandfather taught him. He was a very well mannered, 13 year old. Bet he doesn’t drop litter. He'd been busking on the Mile, but it must be tough - he gets shouted at. Apparently the regular buskers are very territorial. So I got rid of my shrapnel into his bagpipe bag.

Archie had another wee run on the Links. Too tired (and too late) to go to the show this evening. We'll aim for Sunday, the final show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.