Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

I see a unicorn!

A most successful day! Despite the rain, which didn’t amount to the deluge expected, just drips, which didn’t need an umbrella up, but people do, which makes walking on crowded pavements dangerous to one's eye sockets.

I popped into town to pick up two-for-one tickets for the show tonight. Then to get some new underwear (a once in a decade event) and then to print out some photos, which I haven’t done before, but it's really easy and cheap.

On the way down, I spotted the chap with the unicorn, and hoped he was still there when I came back. He was! Though it was pretty hard to get a clear view of him on the busy pavement. I gave him a good tip - his outfit was great. That's a snake coming out of the unicorn's nose - see side view.
(Extra).

Later in the afternoon we popped across to the show, and had time for the best fish and chips. And then a big ice cream, which we had to gobble because we weren’t allowed in the venue with them.

Funnily enough, we met people in the queue that we haven’t seen for years. In fact, we didn’t recognise them at all - they were friends of friends and we only met them a couple of times. As is my wont, I turned to the person in the queue behind me and asked if they'd seen any good shows.

'Your face is familiar. Are you with the NHS?' she enquired.
'No, but I use them a lot'.

They were able to go and keep us seats while we stayed outside and gobbled the ice creams. Serves us right for getting doubles.

Anyway, the show - incredible. Three generations of women doing acrobatics while singing, chatting, arguing, being funny. The little knitted romper suits were fetching, and could catch on!

A convenient bus was imminent as we left the theatre, so we were home in no time. That's TWO nights in a row Archie's been left on his own. What's the world coming to?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.