SILVER

There's a group of about 6 of these beautiful birch trees up in the Victorian cemetery.

I was very relieved to have a long conversation with daughter #2 today. I heard from her husband late last Thursday that she was in hospital after a cardiac episode (he said a heart attack) but didn't want me to know. She's only 42 and her dad died of a heart attack when he was 53. It seems that in her case it was fortunately very low-level, definitely a warning shot brought on by stress exacerbated by smoking, drinking and overweight, all of which she thought she had time to deal with sometime in the future. As the risk of sounding flippant, I think I've managed to take on most of her stress in the last few days and the rest she knows she has to take seriously now. She's home now, on various medications and is feeling tired but well, obviously still worried about things but confident in the treatment and attention she's had. The hospital was right on her doorstep and has an excellent cardiology department so that was a good thing too. I'm supposed to be clearing the decks for a holiday next week, but we'll see. I'll be on the phone every day.

The reason she didn't want me to know was that she wanted to know and understand all the facts to tell me herself, and not have her husband give me piecemeal information day-by-day. I knew that was what she'd be thinking, but I'm still glad he decided to phone and tell me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.