The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Thanks George

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

I couldn’t even tell you how often I have walked under this arch at the bottom of Observatory Road. I love it because it feels like the gateway to one of my favourite places in the world, Blackford Hill.

Today, I read the plaques on the sides of the arch (in the extras) for the first time. It always amazes me that you can look at something all the time but never really see it. I wonder how many other things I miss...

Anyway, the Harrison Arch was built in 1888 to commemorate Lord Provost Sir George Harrison*’s contribution to Edinburgh. He had facilitated the purchase of the hill (for the sum of £8000) to make it available as a public park.

It’s so weird to think that if it hadn’t been for him, I might not be able to go to my happy place**. The view never gets old and I see different things every time I’m there. It’s the only place where I am consistently, at the risk of sounding w*nky, ‘in the moment’. I am a person who is easily distracted (and often irritated) by noise. Not just the usual door banging, nail tapping stuff, but every day noise that most people don’t notice - traffic, other people’s breathing, footsteps, the constant hum of electrical appliances. I can hear someone opening a crisp packet from across the office! When I’m very tired, I completely lose the ability to filter them out and it feels like my brain is under attack! It becomes the only thing I can focus on.

I think that’s what I like most about being up the hill - the absence of noise other than those caused by the weather*** and dogs, both of which I like. My mind quietens and I feel calm****. It’s like a defrag on my brain.

So ‘Cheers’ George. I am very grateful for your service to the community.

C

*Not the Beatle obvs. He died in 1885. Harrison Road and Harrison Gardens are also named after him.

**FFS!

***normally howling wind and p1ssing rain. It’s Scotland.


****Unless Murphy steals someone’s food and destroys my reverie. But that makes me laugh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.